Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 20 d minor, K 466

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Duration: 30'
Rondo (Allegro Assai)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466, is one of his most famous and admired works. It premiered on February 11, 1785, with Mozart himself at the piano. This concerto is particularly notable as one of the few he composed in a minor key, giving it a distinctly dramatic and sometimes somber character.

The concerto is divided into three movements:

Allegro: The first movement opens immediately with a dramatic theme in D minor, setting the serious and passionate mood of the concerto right from the start. Mozart's use of minor keys in this concerto is unusual and lends the piece a unique intensity.

Romance: The second movement, a Romance, offers a strong contrast to the first. It's a quieter, more lyrical movement in B-flat major, creating a calming and almost melancholic atmosphere. This movement showcases Mozart's ability to convey deep emotions through his music.

Rondo (Allegro assai): The final movement returns to the drama and energy of the first but concludes in a triumphant D major cadence. This movement is lively and full of vigor, bringing the concerto to an exciting and satisfying close.

Piano Concerto No. 20 is renowned for its emotional depth and complexity, as well as its innovative harmonic and melodic developments. It demonstrates Mozart's mastery in concerto composition and remains one of his most popular and frequently performed works.